MacArthur Genius Awards Announced, Winners Include Elizabeth Turk and Jorge Pardo

It was announced today that 23 diverse people are winners of the 2010 MacArthur Foundation's "Genius" Awards. According to this New York Times story:

Twelve men and 11 women, ranging in age from 30 to 72, were named MacArthur fellows this year. All will receive $100,000 a year for five years, no strings attached.

The youngest, John Dabiri, 30, is a biophysicist at the California Institute of Technology who explores the hydrodynamics of jellyfish propulsion. The oldest, Matthew Carter, 72, is a type designer in Cambridge, Mass., known for his elegant letter forms for different mediums. Mr. Carter also designed the typefaces used for headlines in The New York Times newspaper.

Since the inception of the program in 1981 and including this year’s fellows, 828 people, ranging in age from 18 to 82 at the time of their selection, have been named.

As before, two artists who show at well-known galleries and exhibit their work in museums, were among the recipients:

According to the commendations accompanying each award, Jorge Pardo, installation artist, "is engaging viewers in the United States and abroad with works that produce great visual delight while questioning distinctions between fine art and design."

And, Elizabeth Turk, "is pushing the physical limits of her material and reviving a classical medium for contemporary artistic exploration." 

Previous winners have included the following well-known artists: Robert Irwin and James Turrell (1984), Martin Puryear and Bill Viola (1989), Lee Friedlander (1990), David Hammons (1991), Ann Hamilton (1993), Robert Adams (1994), Cindy Sherman (1995), Vija Celmins and Kara Walker (1997), Janine Antoni and Gary Hill (1998), Elizabeth Murray and Fred Wilson (1999), Alfredo Jaar (2000), Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle (2001), Toba Khedoori (2002), Sarah Sze (2003), Julie Mehretu (2005), Josiah McElheny and Shahzia Sikander (2006), Tara Donovan (2008), Mark Bradford, Rackstraw Downes and Camille Utterback (2009).

  • First
  • Previous
  • of
  • 1
  • Next